By this time let us discuss about two terminology such as Principal Parts of Building and Building Structure meanwhile I will describe and explain Principal Parts of Building as below. The most of people and architectural students will confuse about these two terminologies. Well, at the first, let me distinguish both of the words as below,

What difference?

The Principal Parts of building is the main part of civil engineering, which is called the principal parts (main body). The Building Structure can be understood as the construction skeleton of a building in civil engineering, normally it is called structure. In another hand, the main body of a building refers to the structural structure of a building entity including roof, floor, beam, column, support, wall, joint and foundation and so on.


Brief of Principal Parts of Building

Actually principal parts of building may divide into three parts:

  1. Concrete Engineering:
  • Form work engineering
  • Reinforcement engineering
  • Prestressed engineering
  • Concrete engineering
  • Cast-in-situ structural engineering
  • Assembly structural engineering
  • Partitioned project of concrete structure


  1. Masonry Engineering:
  • Basic provisions
  • Masonry mortar
  • Brick masonry engineering
  • Concrete building-block masonry engineering
  • Stone masonry engineering
  • Reinforced masonry engineering
  • Filling wall masonry engineering
  • Winter construction.


  1. Steel Structure Engineering:
  • Basic Provisions
  • Entering of Raw Materials and Finished Products
  • Welding Engineering of Steel Structure
  • Fastener Connection Engineering
  • Processing Engineering of Steel Parts and Steel Components
  • Assembly Engineering of Steel Components
  • Pre-assembly Engineering of Steel Components
  • Installation Engineering of Single-story Steel Structure
  • Steel Components and steel structure of multi-storey and high rise building


Category of Anti-seismic and Fortification

  1. Special fortification category

It means that refers to the use of special facilities; the major construction projects involving the national public safety and the special fortified buildings, incurring serious secondary disasters and other special consequences of major disasters when earthquakes occurred.


  1. Key fortification category

Refers to Lifeline related buildings where functions cannot be interrupted or need to be restored as soon as possible during an earthquake; And the building, that need to improve the standard of fortification when the earthquake may lead to a large number of casualties and other major disaster consequences.


  1. Standard fortification category

Refers to the buildings with fortification of standard requirement but not including categories 1, 2 and 3.


  1. Moderate fortification

Refers to the buildings with few personnel and no secondary hazards due to earthquake damage that allow moderate reduction of requirements under certain conditions.



Building Information from HERE.

Click Here For More.

How to Understand Principal Parts of Building

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.